How to Block Someone on Facebook Messenger

Tired of receiving someone’s endless messages? Here is how to stop them.

Hand sticking out of phone and denying a man access
Quickly block individuals from sending you messages.

 alashi/Getty Images

If you feel as though someone is abusing your Facebook Messenger inbox, you might decide it is time to block them so that you no longer receiver their messages.

What Happens When You Block Someone

When you block someone on Messenger you will no longer receive messages or chat requests from the blocked individual; you will also be unable to contact them. Additionally, if the individual you choose to block is within a group conversation, you will be notified before entering the chat. If you decide to join a chat with a blocked individual, they will be able to converse with you within the context of that conversation.

It is essential to understand that blocking someone on Facebook Messenger does not block them on the entire Facebook platform – only from contacting you via the Messenger platform.

How to Block Individuals

If you have decided that you do wish to block an individual then follow the appropriate instructions below to do so from either the Messenger website or mobile app.

Instructions for Messenger Website

Blocking a Facebook Messenger contact via the web.
Use Messenger.com to block messages from unwanted individuals.  Michael Archambault
  1. Begin by heading to the official Messenger website in your web browser.
  2. If you are not logged in already, log in with your Facebook credentials.
  3. Scroll down to the individual you wish to block and hover over your existing conversation with your mouse.
  4. While hovering over the individual’s name a gear symbol will appear on the righthand side of their name – click on it.
  5. Select the option to Block Messages and confirm the decision.

Instructions for Messenger Mobile App

Blocking a Facebook Messenger contact via the app.
Use the Messenger App to block messages from unwanted individuals.  Michael Archambault
  1. Begin by opening the Messenger mobile app on your iOS or Android smartphone.
  2. If you are not already logged in, log in with your Facebook credentials.
  3. Scroll down to the individual you wish to block and hold your finger on their name until a pop-up dialog appears.
  4. Select the More option in the dialog box.
  5. Select the option to Block Messages and hit Done.

Will Someone Know That I've Blocked Them?

While Facebook does not explicitly inform an individual that you blocked them, it may not be difficult for the person in question to discover the truth. When the person attempts to contact you, they will be served a message noting that ‘This person isn’t available right now.' A simple web search will reveal that this message is displayed to individuals who have been blocked on the platform. If you are anxious about someone discovering that they have been blocked, you may wish to opt for the 'ignore' option which we have detailed further below.

How to Reverse Your Decision

If you have decided that you wish to unblock an individual and allow them to communicate with you, follow the directions below for the appropriate platform.

Instructions for Messenger Website

Unblocking a Facebook Messenger contact via the website.
Use the Messenger Website to unblock messages if you have changed your mind. Michael Archambault
  1. Begin by heading to the official Messenger website in your web browser.
  2. If you are not already logged in, log in with your Facebook credentials.
  3. Select the Large Gear in the upper left-hand corner.
  4. Select the Settings option from the list.
  5. Under the Blocking heading, select which individual you would like to unblock.

Instructions for Messenger Mobile App

Unblocking a Facebook Messenger contact via the app.
Use the Messenger App to unblock messages if you change your mind.
  1. Begin by opening the Messenger app on your iOS or Android smartphone.
  2. If you are not already logged in, log in with your Facebook credentials.
  3. Tap on your Messenger profile photo in the upper left-hand corner.
  4. Scroll down to the People option and tap on it within the list.
  5. Tap on the Blocked option that appears.
  6. Select the individual you would like to unblock.

Alternative to Blocking Someone

If you do not wish to block someone you might opt to ignore their messages entirely. When you choose to ignore an individual instead of blocking them, it will appear to them that their messages were sent. On your device, you will not see their messages immediately; instead, they will be relegated to the Message Requests Inbox.

To Ignore someone on Messenger, follow the exact steps above for your respective platform, but when prompted choose to Ignore Messages instead of ‘Block.’

To access your message requests on the web visit the Messenger Website > select the Large Gear in the upper left-hand corner > select Message Requests.

To obtain your message requests on the app begin by opening the Messenger app on iOS or Android > select the People Tab at the bottom of the screen > select Message Requests.

To reverse the process of ignoring an individual, merely select their message within the Message Request inbox and hit the reply button at the bottom of the message to return their conversation to your regular inbox.