How to Unblock Someone on Twitter

If you're willing to take them back, it's easy to do

A woman types a message on Twitter.

Flickr / Sebastiaan ter Burg

 

If you've blocked someone by accident or otherwise, it's fairly easy to unblock people on Twitter. But while you can unblock someone on Twitter, a side effect of blocking an account is they are no longer one of your followers. In order to read your tweets, the recently blocked person will need to go to your profile page and follow you again.

Not sure you want to unblock them? As an alternative to blocking an account, Twitter has a feature called 'mute' that removes an account's tweets from your timeline without unfollowing or blocking the account. It's simply hidden. You also won't receive notifications from the account, but it will be able to send direct messages.

How to Unblock On Twitter Using Your PC or Mac

A screenshot of Twitter's blocked account list
The quickest way to unblock someone is through the blocked accounts list.
  • Go to Twitter.com in your favorite web browser. 
  • Log in if you are not already logged into Twitter.
  • Navigate to your blocked account settings by clicking your profile picture, choosing Settings and privacy, and clicking Blocked accounts on the left-side menu.
  • This page will display your Twitter block list. The Blocked button will change to an Unblock button if you hover your mouse button. To unblock an account, simply click the Unblock button.
  • If you accidentally block an account while on their profile page, you can unblock them by clicking the Blocked button on that profile page. It will act just as the Blocked buttons in the blocked account settings.

You can also export or import a blocked account list by clicking Advanced Options above your blocked list. Exporting a blocked account list allows you to share it with a friend, and importing one will allow you to mirror a friend's blocked list.

How to Unblock People on Twitter Using Your iPhone or iPad

A screenshot of Twitter on iOS.
The Twitter app on iOS doesn't have an unblock button in the blocked accounts list.
  • Launch the Twitter app.
  • Tap on your profile picture in the upper-left corner of the screen.
  • Choose Settings and privacy and then tap Content preferences from the menu.
  • Blocked accounts are at the end of content preferences in the Safety section.
  • Tapping an account from the list will take you to their profile page. On the profile page, tap the Blocked button to unblock the account. You will be prompted to verify your choice. Tap Unblock to complete the process.
  • After you unblock an account, you can tap the " < " button at the top-left of the screen or swipe from left to right to move back to the blocked accounts page.

How to Unblock Someone on Twitter Using Your Android Smartphone or Tablet

A screenshot of Twitter on Android
The blocked accounts list is located in a different spot on Twitter, but it does let you unblock from the list.
  • Launch the Twitter app.
  • Tap on your profile picture in the upper-left corner of the screen.
  • Choose Settings and privacy and then tap Privacy and Safety from the menu.
  • Blocked accounts are towards the end of these settings in the Safety section.
  • You can unblock accounts directly from the blocked list by tapping the Blocked button.
  • You can also tap the account to view its profile and tap the Blocked button to unblock the account. If you unblock the account this way, you will be prompted to confirm your choice.